Uuuurk is this late. As a result some of the MADs here are already a few months old, but I’d still like to share them.

Pic related. No, really.

Megurine Luka: Tower

Although it came out around Christmas I had to have this in a post because it’s just that amazing. The original song by Eshijanai-Kei is older still. I really love these PVs that look like anime, how long do they take to make? Here we have a rather sad child Luka (I presume) who feels ignored in the world and wonders if anyone would notice were she to jump off the lit-up tower. Luckily,  she has second thoughts. It’s signature Luka-rock and a pretty strong song in its own right.
Tsukimido’s video shows all this beautifully animated, with the (supposed) child Luka being confronted by her adult self, reminding her that there are people who care about her in this world. A must-watch.

Hatsune Miku: Peke-Jirushi (X-Mark)

The necessary WHAT IS THIS AND WHY IS IT SO ADORABLE entry for this post, Lamaze-P brings us an infectious pop track that will seriously be stuck in your head forever. The most I can make sense of is that Miku’s counting down the days to something in the most boppy manner possible whilst being very indecisive about her feelings, rounding the whole thing of with random K-On! references. If you like your Vocaloid songs chipper and bouncy, this won’t disappoint.
The video makes it almost cuteness overdose…especially the dancing Miku that keeps popping up. It’s mesmerizing.

Hatsune Miku, SF-A2 Miki, Kaai Yuki: Platinum Romance

This joint project between Re:nG and artist Tahya has the look and sound of a visual novel opener. An exceedingly adorable one at that. Although the song to me isn’t all that memorable, I’m really loving Miki and Yuki and I needed to include them in a post some time. Yuki’s voice especially amps up the adorable in this; it’s so quiet, shy and cute. Miki still sounds a little too much like Rin crossed with younger-Meiko in my ears, but man do I love her design.
Like I said, this could easily pass as a game opening. It’s very well done, if not a little repetitive. It’s lovely to look at in any case, and makes me feel all happy inside.

Kagamine Rin, Megurine Luka, Hatsune Miku, KAITO: Onii Yuukai/Kidnapping Big Brother

I.

Just.

….Okay.

Depending on your point of view this joint-production (Chanagi/Maroyan) is either the greatest or most terrible MAD ever made. (I sit somewhere in the middle of these. It’s terrible in an utterly brilliant way.) As you may or may not know, Rin’s Meltdown is a popular template for parody and has spawned many ‘Loli Yuukai’ MADS (loli kidnapping), with different versions sung by Kaito, Len and Gackpo. This version reverses that whole theme. And how.
Seriously just watch it. I don’t want to spoil the fun. I will say that the art is gorgeous, heavily influenced by the original Meltdown and full of some lovely Kaito-service if you’re into that. Otherwise you can look forward to some terriying yandere faces courtesy of the girls. (Especially Miku. Miku seems to  be especially terrifiying.)As a Kaito fan, am I bad person for enjoying this as much as I do? But more importantly, at the end, what the hell did you do, girls? What the hell did you do?

I came so close to making that my top pick.

TOP PICK- Kagamine Rin: Musik

Rin does a 18o from the above video, this time starring in an absolutely beautiful piece about the preciousness of music. There seems to be a lot of people involved (Producer is Oppiroge, drums are by Dai, pictures by Sangatsuyouka and the video by Ikiro). And it’s an amazing collaboration.
A sad, lonely Rin who is unable to express herself has her life changed forever when she discovers music -and, like her world, the entire song changes, becoming tremendously uplifting.
The video is perfect, really, and both Rins in the video are beautifully stylized. Also the bit from 3:40 is the cutest thing ever. This one reached the Hall of Fame for me.

