MAJOR SPOILERS! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

~~~~~

Summary:

Just as the king of Saubure claims that they will not be involved in the war, Albert decides to show his ugly mug and reveals to the council that Jupiter Roget, head of the Ministry of Science, is actually a Gray Wolf. This causes much outrage and Roget is immediately labeled as a traitor. Outside the palace, tensions are rising on the streets as the threat of war grows increasingly stronger. Cordelia expresses the desire to rescue her daughter, though the Roscoe twins say that it is impossible at this point.

Nice to see the Roscoe twins being shown together after the "Big Reveal" about them.

At the Academy, the classrooms are now empty as most students have been sent back to their home country. Even Avril is forced to return to England, and Cecile is soon out of a job; having no students to teach. Back at the palace, the king is shown to dislike the thought of getting involved in the war, because he fears for the safety and well-being of his subjects. However, Albert manipulates the king into becoming heartless, by bringing up the murder of his “wife,” the queen. Thus, the country is plunged into the Second World War, all because of one man’s ambitions…

I... I can't even make a joke about this, because this is a really depressing scene in context...

Gone are the happy days of Kazuya and Victorica just squabbling...

AUUUUUGH Albert what the FUCK

Many years has supposedly passed by now, and back in Japan, Kazuya has joined the army; still hanging on to the ring that Victorica gave him. He is fighting for her sake. Back in Saubure, Grevil reveals to Victorica (who is being held captive in the palace) that Albert is now a Prime Minister, and that Victorica’s presence is required for a speech that Albert plans to make. However, when the speech actually goes underway, it is shown that Cordelia has switched places with her daughter, and she and one of the Roscoe twins fight Albert and his henchmen to the death. Meanwhile, Victorica is being carried off in a carriage by the other Roscoe twin, who attempts to kill her in anger…

As I've said before, I never thought I'd become so fond of Cecile...

Victorica... D: Also, in hindsight, I probably should have included at least one picture of Kazuya, but... it was too painful for me to cap...

Cordelia is one of the most badass mothers of all time.

My Opinion:

WHY CAN’T I HOLD ALL THESE TEARS!?!

I knew the last two episodes of Gosick would be extremely dark but holy cow I was not expecting… THIS. The pacing of this episode was quite fast and maybe even a bit rushed due to them packing such a large span of time into just one episode, but at the same time it feels somewhat perfect in capturing the chaotic nature of war. Also, this is probably the saddest episode to date, so forgive me if I’m not being very coherent here. This episode kind of leaves you in a daze for a while after viewing.

A lot of people were confused by this episode, but it makes sense to me if you think about it as taking place over many years. If you remember what the Elder said in one of the very early Gosick episodes, Kazuya and Victorica will be separated for many years by a war, but they will eventually be reunited again. (Hopefully that means there will be a good end for those two? There’s still one episode left so who knows?)

I am personally quite amazed at how good Gosick has become. I was a little impressed at the beginning, and my interest waned towards the middle, but these last few episodes have honestly been captivating. Every plot-line seems to wrap together nicely, which really shows that patience pays off when watching this series. I never thought I’d be interested in “historical drama,” but Gosick proved me wrong.

Overall, I really have no complaints about this episode. It was just THAT good (in my opinion, of course). I am eagerly awaiting the end.

Out of five:

       

Yes, full marks.

A bittersweet victory; a mother's sacrifice so that her daughter can live...

