With only two more episodes to go, there are obviously SPOILERS here!

Saki may not be the strongest ESP user in the show, but her displays of inner-strength definitely make her one of my favorite heroines in anime ever.

 

Summary:

The more time Saki spends in the ruins of Tokyo, the more her memories of “mysterious boy X” are unlocked.  Eventually, the group comes to a river deep underground, with the weapon’s location upstream of that.  So they are forced to split up: Kiroumaru and Satoru end up leading the enemy away, while Saki and Innui must return to the surface to grab the submarine and head upstream.

Kiroumaru’s completely in the “shadows” here. Is that some subtle foreshadowing I see?

While going back to the surface, Innui reveals to Saki that he feels Kiroumaru is acting suspiciously, and that he may just be leading them all into a trap.  Nonetheless, Saki and Innui still stick to the plan as they don’t have much choice in the matter.  Unfortunately, it is now night time and thus the Ragworms that roam the waters are awake.  Saki and Innui barely missed being killed by one, before they take the sub and head back into the caverns below Tokyo.

Man, I really want a mini-minoshiro plush now. I mean, those things do look really creepy but they’re also kind of cute? I guess?

After suffering a particularly strong hallucination (or is it?), Saki and Innui finally make it back in the caves.  Since it seems Satoru and Kiroumaru are holed up somewhere, Saki and Innui have to push on ahead alone.  Eventually, they must also abandon the sub because of some very narrow passageways.  Another Ragworm attacks them at this time, and only Saki manages to escape.  Despite being deeply saddened by Innui’s death, Saki soldiers on and manages to successfully find the Psychobuster.

I really wish they had given it a better name though. “Pyschobuster”? Seriously?

With weapon in hand, Saki makes her way back to the surface once dawn arrives.  However, she once again sees “mysterious boy X”—or rather (as she finally remembers) Shun.

Also bats. Lots of bats.

My Opinion:

As I predicted last review, Kiroumaru is definitely acting suspicious and I’m glad that at least one of the characters in Shin Sekai Yori addresses it.  At this point, I believe that Kiroumaru could still be on Saki’s (and the other humans’) side, but maybe that’s what he wanted us to think all along…

Some stuff I didn’t bother to include in the summary was that Saki starts thinking about Canti leakage in the very beginning of the episode.  She thinks that it may have been their thoughts (given power by their Cantus) that converted Tokyo into the deserted wasteland it is now.  If that’s the case, is that why Shun appears at the end of the episode?  The series still makes it ambiguous as to whether Saki is hallucinating or if she’s actually being haunted by Shun’s memory/ghost.  And the ending of this episode is even more so as it doesn’t make it completely clear whether this Shun is a manifestation of Saki’s memory, just another hallucination, or if he’s really actually alive.  That last theory is really slim but he DOES look older here.  So… I don’t really know anymore.

I can’t say I’m really sad about Innui’s death since it happened so quickly, but I am somewhat… disappointed?  It was fairly obvious that he would die after giving that “if I die, please finish my work for me” speech to Saki, but I didn’t expect it to happen within the very same episode.  And I didn’t expect it to be so… un-heroically either.  But I guess that just shows how unexpected death can be.

Okay, I ended up just rambling about theories so let’s end this soon.

Overall, this was a great episode.  It’s much more “action-packed” than previous episodes, which is fitting given that we’re nearing the end of the series.  I think Saki’s inner strength is shown off really well here.  It’s a bit strange that they choose to have Saki finally remember Shun’s name in this episode (seems a bit random), but I guess there’s a reason for it as we’ll probably find out later.

Anyway, out of five for this episode:

precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2 and 1/2

This isn’t symbolic AT ALL

