Shouldn’t the human be the one saying that…?

Summary:

One day, a high school boy named Takurou decides to go fishing, but ends up fishing out a mermaid instead.  The mermaid has a badly torn up tail, and calls herself Muromi.  Even among the other mermaids, Muromi seems to be a little bit… insane.  And she also (for some strange reason) seems really fond of Takurou.  And so they begin to hang out together and crazy antics inevitably ensue.

I think the most amusing thing to me about this series is that Takurou is just all, “okay so i fished up a mermaid whatevs” and does’t express any amazement/surprise after the initial shock.

There are times when Muromi actually looks somewhat cute, like in this shot. But mostly she just looks deranged.

I think it says far too much about this series when I find the supporting characters way more interesting than Muromi–and they’ve really only been seen in the opening song.

Yep, it’s Muromi.

My Opinion:

I think three letters can aptly describe what I saw in this episode and that is “wtf.”  This series is, to put it frankly, somewhat insane.  But is it in a good way or a bad way?  That I’m not too sure of yet.

This series is an anime short of sorts, being only 12 minutes long.  However, I think that’s the perfect running time for a series like this.  It’s not short enough to be annoying, but it’s also not long enough to be… well, annoying.  Because honestly, I’m sure a full 22 minutes of this type of thing would get really nerve-grating.

The biggest turn-off of this series would probably be its art style.  The eyes in particular remind me of 90s anime.  The animation itself actually isn’t too bad, though.  It’s just very heavily stylized.  But there’s another big turn-off I can see and that is Muromi herself.  She’s very loud, very crass, very random, and very stupid.  She’s basically what non-anime fans think of when they think of the generic anime girl.  And it’s pretty cringe-worthy.  Takurou is your typical generic shonen lead, but Muromi is so obnoxious that Takurou’s blandness isn’t even a detractor to this series.  Seriously.

There’s not much “story” with this series.  So far it seems like it’s going to just be your typical gag anime.  For a comedy series though, the first episode wasn’t really comedic so much as “random.”  Being random does not automatically equate into “comedy,” which is something I really wish anime/manga would learn already.  Hell, I found the opening song more interesting that what the rest of the episode turned out to be about.

Still, I can’t help but be vaguely interested in this series.  I can’t wait to learn more about the other characters in this series, because they look so much more interesting (and endearing) than Muromi.  Maybe if they toned Muromi down a notch this series would actually be enjoyable to watch.  As it is, however, it’s just your typical gag anime that falls short of actually being funny.  You know the ones.

Depending on how future episodes play out, I may review this series.  Call it bile fascination if you want, but at least it’s a relatively short and painless watch (for me).  Also, keep in mind that this is based on a manga that’s spanned SEVEN volumes and is still on-going.  So I’m holding out hope that there must be SOMETHING interesting about this series to keep it going for so long.

Out of five:

precure heart2 and 1/2

WHOAH THERE MUROMI maybe you should SLOW DOWN

