Time for more summer shenanigans!

Summary:

It’s still summer, so the girls go to the beach.  Komari is extremely self-conscious about her height and it ends up causing a big uproar when she’s mistaken for a kid.  Later, when the girls go home, they stop by a small noodle stand before boarding the train and some funny spicy pepper stuff goes down.  All the while, Hotaru experiences some more of the oddities of country life.

She may be big but she’s not THAT big!

I wish I liked cucumbers enough to eat them just like that. I absolutely hate eating cucumbers by themselves, though…

She says “stop” in English too, which makes this scene funnier.

My Opinion:

We’re back to the usual gag and humor fare this episode.  While it wasn’t that bad, I still found the episode to be a bit dull.  Sorry, I just don’t like beach episodes that much.

All in all though, Non Non Biyori’s beach episode was a lot less painful than… quite a few other anime.  There was some slight fanservice in that the girls were wearing swimsuits, but at least it wasn’t focused on too heavily.  I think the main reason I didn’t enjoy this episode too much was because the main joke throughout the whole thing was just “lol look how short Komari is for being a middle-schooler.”  A gag or two about her height is funny, but having a whole episode of them just makes the joke get old fast.  After a while, it stops being funny and just starts being kind of repetitive and annoying.  The noodle stand scene was really well-executed, though.

Overall, I wasn’t as impressed with this episode as I was with the others.  I just think the “Komari is short” gag went on way too long during the beach section.  But the girls’ interactions are really great, as they are shown to play off of each other very well.  This episode wasn’t necessarily bad, just somewhat bland.  The next episode seems to wrap up the summer “arc” and seems to be about ghosts so that should be fun.

Out of five for this episode:

precure heart2precure heart2 and 1/2

This was the catchphrase for pretty much the entire last half of the episode.

