Doing this first over Kyousougiga because this is MUCH easier to write a review for.

Poor Hotaru…

Summary:

It’s been a year now since Hotaru moved to the countryside, and it is spring once again!  Hotaru goes on a picnic with Komari, where they exchange bentos.  Unfortunately, Komari is still really bad at cooking.

Later on, Hotaru meets up with the other girls to go picking edible plants.  Renge gets somewhat sad when she realizes that they really are living “in the country,” but Hotaru reassures Renge—even though the countryside and the city are like two totally different worlds, Hotaru still loves the countryside for what it is.  This cheers Renge up greatly.  The episode ends with the girls wondering what they’re going to do with the rest of the day.

Whoah, we actually get to see what Hotaru’s parents look like!

Aw man, they were teasing a speaking scene from Suguru so hard. But it never happened…

Renge…

RENGE………

My Opinion:

This was another Hotaru-centric episode; which is fitting since the series started out by introducing her as the newbie in her school.  As I predicted, nothing too exciting happened here, though I was honestly surprised at the reveal that Renge’s family owned the entire mountain.  Sadly, Suguru never got a chance to actually talk, which would have been an amazing surprise for the final episode.  Ah, whatever.

I wasn’t too fond of the first skit, where Hotaru and Komari go on a picnic and Hotaru has to stomach her way through Komari’s awful cooking.  I… still don’t particularly like Komari, and the whole “the cooking is awful but the character eats it anyway” joke has been done to death in so many anime in the past.  It just felt kind of dull to me.  I am amazed at Hotaru’s uh… perseverance though.

The second skit was much better.  The comedic timing with all of Renge’s comments were perfect.  “IT’S FUNKY!!!”  Oh god, you guys just won’t understand how funny that scene is until you watch it.  I actually burst out laughing, which is a very rare thing for me when watching anime.  Those last few scenes really did make the entire episode.  Other than the comedy, I do like all the little call backs to the first episode, what with Renge musing about them living in the country, and the sakura tree getting ready to bloom again.

Overall, this was a good episode.  The beginning fell a bit flat for me, but the rest of the episode was great.  This episode was rather laid-back and relaxed; but honestly, I couldn’t think of a better way to end a series like this.

Out of five for this episode:

precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2

Overall Thoughts:

To be perfectly honest, I wasn’t expecting much out of this series when I was doing first impressions.  The summary did interest me, but I thought it would just end up being a moe-fest with not much substance.  Boy, was I surprised.

While this series is still very “moe,” and not much actually happens, Non Non Biyori just does such a good job of showing off country-life and country atmosphere.  The background animation is lovely, and even though there are a lot of slow pans on the background, I don’t actually mind because it’s so relaxing.  It also helps that the characters themselves are all very interesting and have such great chemistry with each other.

The jokes in this series don’t always make me laugh, but for the most part, they’re pretty clever so they do make me smile at least.  This series is great at making visual and verbal jokes that aren’t just people screaming at each other; such a welcome thing in light of all the recent “gag” anime where the characters are just screaming random things at each other rapid-fire.

To end, I think this has been a great series to watch.  Obviously, this isn’t an anime for everyone.  Some people may find this series very boring, and others may be put off by the somewhat simplistic, cutesy character designs.  But for anyone who just wants a nice, charming series to make them feel better after a crappy day; then this is the series for you.  It certainly helped to brighten my mood, as I always end up smiling by the end of every episode.

Out of five for the series as a whole:

precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2

 

Bye! Thanks for all the laughs!

