We are one minute and forty three seconds into the episode, by the way.


Keiichirou is a shogun? I think? And he just unified Nagasaki, which made him really pissed off because now everyone thinks he’s so tough they don’t want to challenge him to any fights, and I suppose he liked fighting. Then there’s a whole load of boobs and hilariously historically-inaccurate clothing and steam-powered mechas. Some sub-plot about a murderer who kills young men in a brothel, which for some reason invites more forced gay jokes than you’d expect could fit in ten minutes. I think something else happened but I think my brain also evacuated halfway through rather than subject itself to this lobotomy of a show, so I’m a little fuzzy on it.

KOOODAMAAAAAAARUUUUUUU????!!!!!

You know, usually when a show is absolutely terrible I write a big verbose review about why it’s terrible, and sometimes it gives me an excuse to pretend that I’m witty, so I at least get something out of it. But Fuun Ishin Dai Shogun is so bad it’s actually exhausting. This show exhausted me and I am simply too tired to write it the hilarious review it deserves, as I just don’t think I can scrounge up all the effort it would require to care about it anymore.

Instead, I’m just going to post the notes I took while I was watching the episode:

well at least I can tell this is nagasaki
is that a steam powered mecha
NICE HAIR
this animation is bad already
ANIMATING CLOTHES MOVING IS FOR SQUARES. OR HAIR MOVING. OR LITERALLY ANYTHING MOVING.
this guy has literally the worst character design
Ive found it, the anime people who hate anime think all anime is. This is like Girl-chan in Paradise except unironic, also Girl-chan in Paradise has better animation than this.
seriously was this animated in fuckin flash or what
I’m sure these character designs are very historically accurate
well here come the boobs
THEY ARE LITERALLY BIGGER THAN HER HEAD
ARE THEY FUCKING MADE OF CUSTARD PUDDING WHY ARE THEY -RIPPLING-
ok he got mad for no reason
STEAM PUPPETS ok so steam mechas
wow what an unfitting theme song
some genres you just shouldnt cross
I cant believe how much I hate this show after only 4 minutes
literally none of these character designs are good
random bath scene for no reason ok
no one wants to fight him anymore, I cant blame potential opponents for not wanting to be in this show though
this has to have been animated in flash
this glasses woman literally just slid towards the camera instead of walking
what is even going on
is this a real show or did somehow every parody of over-the-top anime machismo gain sentience and form into a show all on its own
what is it with all the gay jokes
whenever someone runs they just go in a running pose while the speedlines flash around them, it’s almost impressive how lazy this is
I can’t tell if this is meant to be emotional or not
THE WAY SHE WALKS
SHE LITERALLY IS A STILL IMAGE BOBBING UP AND DOWN
ah yes latex battle outfits, just like they had in the edo period
and then a mech popped out
yawns loudly
So I just paused this to check tumblr and someone asked me if I was going to do Mekaku City Actors. Man, I wish I was watching that right now. I wish I wasn’t watching this.
I just got majorly sidetracked and forgot that I actually hadn’t finished this episode yet, but it is really hard to muster the energy to care enough to press play again.
okay so she’s a ninja sent to protect him
bla bla conspiracy bla bla after you bla bla Edo
the grandma is wearing a fishnet suit
i think my brain just evacuated and i can’t even be bothered to try to make sense of this plot or even care about it anymore. Is anyone even watching this for the plot.
ooooook so he can pilot a mecha because he is a virgin.
WE HAVE REACHED PEAK BULLSHIT ABORT MISSION ABORT MISSION
now she’s playing with her tits
her tits literally made a bounce sound effect. an actual bounce sound effect
this is the longest two minutes of my entire life
the credits areĀ  coming up but the episode is still going, why
free me from this hell
please end
this is like the five millionth time he’s said ‘WHAT IS GOING ON’, it’s very fitting.
KEIICHIROU MUST LEARN WHO HE TRULY IS! well sure let him do that, let him do that as far away from me as possible
it’s over
sweet relief

I was counting on you to help with that actually.

With its combination of Barely Even Animation, sheer stupidity, blatant trashiness and almost impressive terribleness, Fuun Ishin Dai Shogun wasn’t just bad, it was so bad it deserves an award.
Congratulations, Fuun Ishin Dai Shogun! You earned it.
Out of 5,
1/2

