Heyo, Skins here to bring you some first impressions for the season! I’m not sure what I’m going to pick up in terms of blogging just yet, but I’ll certainly be checking out a LOT of shows this season, most of which I’ll be going into blind (aside from Free! and Sailor Moon) I hope you all enjoy them!

Whenever an anime character says that, you just know that shit is gonna hit the fan.

Whenever an anime character says that, you just know that shit is gonna hit the fan.

To sum up this anime quickly: It’s a war anime with a touch of mecha. Normally I’m down for mecha anime always, but for some reason, Shirogane just didn’t do it for me.

The Kingdom of Arandas Alliance and the Countries Unification of Ingelmia have been at war for a while and the only thing standing between the war escalating is the great wall that divides the two nations. And thus, when it falls, as it does, the war starts to get more ‘interesting’.

What I did like about the episode is, despite my confusion, it was hard to tell who were the ‘good guys’ and the ‘bad guys’ in this, as so often in war it is the case. I did like that aspect of the show, though it did leave me confused, in that I wasn’t even sure which side was which or where our main characters would be centred.

None the less, I did look into the anime a bit more and figured out what was what.

To the show itself, we have the main character, Tokimune, who has your typical shounen personality of rashness, hot headed-ness and wanting to dive straight in and save everyone:

Well this is generic.

Well this is generic.

And well, at this point I kind of just let the anime drone on a bit because, as stated, this anime is as generic as it gets. I honestly found it pretty boring for the first 15 minutes of it, and I really only perked up when we’re introduced to the -plot- so to speak.

The small army group that Tokimune is apart of (his rank is Private, the lowest rank) basically run across a civilian truck being attacked and don’t want to defend it, but hero boy does. Here, he runs into the main lady of the season, Jamie, and then goes onto activate the mystery super powered mecha, Argevollen:

Huh, not bad.

Huh, not bad.

And proceeds to kick the enemy’s ass, and leaves the episode on that note with the ~mystery~ of figuring out what it is.

Honestly, this anime is just way too generic for my taste. As someone whose enjoyed the likes of Full Metal Panic, Suisei No Gargantia, Transformers, Megaman, among many other mecha anime, I consider myself a bit of a connoisseur of as much. It’s a genre I enjoy very much and thus I am picky about what I choose to enjoy.

And this anime just doesn’t do it for me.

If you’re new to the mecha genre, then I think this anime might do the trick for you. But as someone like me whose watched a lot of anime, all of the cast is uninteresting, the plot is boring, and the animation is lackluster.

Though, the music was good, so I may grab the OST when it comes out.

All in all, this anime scores:

captainicon

 

