…What kind of ghost are you?

Summary:

A young girl named Kohina one day summons a fox spirit—a “Kokkuri”—for fun.  The “Kokkuri-san” is somewhat unnerved by Kohina’s strange behavior, as she proclaims that she is merely a doll and has no emotions.  Upon seeing her bad eating habits (all she eats is instant ramen noodles) and learning of the fact that she lives all alone, Kokkuri-san decides to haunt Kohina in order to be her guardian figure.

“Play”?

The first thing Kokkuri tries to do is rid Kohina of her instant-noodle eating habit.  He gets rid of her large stash of instant noodles but she reacts… badly to say the least.  After chasing Kokkuri out of her home, Kohina tries to summon him after a time, but finds that he seems to have left for good.  It’s only then that Kohina realizes that she’s actually pretty lonely, after which Kokkuri visits her again.  Sadly, their reunion is a little less heartwarming than expected…

This series actually has some pretty nice backgrounds.

This is the best shot I could find of Kohina in her non-deformed state.

This scene actually hit me a lot harder than I expected…

My Opinion:

This series is definitely a strange one.  It’s based on a series of 4-koma; which is pretty apparent based on how this episode plays out.  It plays out like several shorts stitched into one episode, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  However, the humor can be pretty hit-or-miss depending on your tastes.  It’s got a very oddball brand type of humor, and while it didn’t make me laugh aloud I did find it amusing enough.

The characters themselves are pretty fun to watch.  Kokkuri-san reminds me strongly of Handa from my recently reviewed Barakamon series; and in fact they’re voiced by the same voice actor, Daisuke Ono.  I’m really liking Kokkuri-san so far, because handsome looking male characters who are also huge dorks are my biggest weakness.  Kohina, on the other hand, might take some more getting used to.  She’s generally drawn in this super-deformed style, which fits the tone of the series.  Some people were annoyed at this, and to be honest it is REALLY unsettling at times because she really looks like a “doll” as she claims.  But that’s the point, and it also makes scenes where she ISN’T drawn in that style have so much more impact.

Overall, a decent series, if you don’t mind some more oddball humor with not much plot to back it up.  I personally find the concept of a fox ghost… spirit-thing deciding to become a lonely girl’s guardian to be somewhat adorable, so I don’t mind the lack of a complex plot.  This seems like an easy series to review so I’m tentatively eyeing this as my second series for the fall season.  It’s still a little too early to be picking shows, though; so I guess we’ll see after first impressions are over.

Out of five for this episode:

precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2

This eyecatch was just unexpectedly adorable.

