As a sort of apology for getting Yuri Kuma Arashi out so late, here is a Magic Kaito episode review extra early!

Oh hey, yet another arrogant character in a Magic Kaito anime. You know the drill.

Summary:

Kaito has his eyes on the Green Dream next—a giant emerald that is going to be showcased in a play called “Marth and Rosa.”  Kaito scouts out the place a day before the play in order to set things up, and accidentally stumbles upon some backstage drama.  Reiko, the daughter of the theater owner, is playing the main role, but she’s horribly arrogant about it.  She also bullies a younger cast member named Megumi.  Later that day, as Kaito is putting the final pieces in place for his heist, he stumbles upon Megumi practicing her lines.  Megumi reveals to him that she has awful stage fright; and the last thing she wants to do is ruin the play everyone worked so hard for.  Kaito gives her some advice, which encourages Megumi to do her best.

I can say that I definitely know that feeling.

Nakamori are you okay

On the night of the play, Kaito and Aoko manage to get some seats for the play, thanks to Inspector Nakamori being on the lookout for Kaito Kid at the theater.  Due to Reiko’s ad-libbing, Megumi fumbles her lines and accidentally destroys some props.  Backstage, Reiko says some very nasty words to the girl, nearly breaking her spirit.  However, there is still one final scene left.  Just as the play reaches its climax, with Prince Marth proposing to Rosa; Kid makes his appearance.  The Kid quickly steals the emerald and discerns that it is not the one he wants.  So he gives it back—to Megumi.  With some encouragement from the Kid, Megumi takes over the main role, and gets a standing ovation in return.

Not long after, Megumi is shown to have become a famous actress thanks to the Kid’s appearance.

Aoko can smell bullshit from a mile away. It is fact.

Why am I such a sucker for moonlit scenes?

My Opinion:

This was a pretty cute episode.  The Kid’s heist isn’t too terribly exciting this time, but I do like Megumi a lot (even if she would probably only ever appear in this episode).

As cliché as the “Kid knocking down arrogant characters a notch” plot is, I still like it.  Especially in this case, because Reiko was just terrible.  I’m glad she got her due “punishment” after how badly she treated Megumi.  As for Megumi, I totally understand her stage fright.  Being a sort of meek person myself, I know how tough it can be to perform in front of a large audience.  Luckily, she was able to get through it, which is pretty satisfying to watch.  I know Megumi’s sort of a one-note character (inevitable, because she only appears in one chapter), but her design is really cute.

I honestly don’t know what else to say about this episode.  It was a fun watch, and I’m a huge sucker for plots that involve some sort of play, especially if that play ends up getting hijacked.  The only thing I have to criticize is that there was some pretty iffy QUALITY ANIMATION this time around.  I mean, just look at that cap of Nakamori’s face I posted above!  This is a more laid back episode though; so I’m willing to forgive that.

Out of five for this episode:

precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2

Looks like Kaito Kid managed to win the heart of another fangirl.

