Be sure to scroll down to check out the other First Impression!

Do cherry blossoms really shed that many petals? I actually have no idea.

Summary:

Wakaba is a girl who comes from a wealthy family and is super excited to start high school.  Becoming a high school girl was one of her biggest dreams in childhood.  Wakaba ends up going to a more ordinary school because she didn’t have the smarts to go to a fancy private one, but she’s okay with it.

Meet the cast.

Oh wow, a blue-haired tsundere with glasses! Now where have we seen THAT before?

On her first day of school, she meets three other girls: Mao, Nao, and Moeko.  The four decide to become friends.  And so Wakaba’s life as a high school student begins…

DISAPPEARING ARMS! Okay, okay, I just took a cap while she was waving them up and down super fast, so it came out looking like that.

My Opinion:

I remember back in the day when Moeronpan and I were complaining about anime shorts.  They went from being five minutes to a ridiculous THREE minutes.  But now it seems that most companies are making 7-8 minutes the norm, which is something I’m glad for.  I think eight minutes is just enough time for there to be some semblance of a plot, but short enough to watch on break or something.  And in Wakaba Girl’s case, the eight minutes helps to keep the series from overstaying its welcome.

This series reminds me a lot of the “Is the Order a Rabbit?” anime in terms of character design.  However, unlike “Is the Order a Rabbit”, I find Wakaba Girl a lot less grating to watch due to its shorter run time.  I suppose having somewhat amusing characters also helps things.  The characters in Wakaba Girl aren’t going to be winning any awards for originality, but at least their interactions are fun enough to watch.

Being a slice-of-life anime, Wakaba Girl doesn’t have much of a plot other than “rich girl goes to a public high school and makes friends” but it works.  There’s something I find really charming about the art-style for this series.  The backgrounds are all done in this picture book-like style and it’s very pleasant to look at.  The girls’ designs are somewhat simplified, but the animation quality is pretty nice.  I remember when anime shorts had terrible animation quality, because much less effort was put into them than in anime with longer running times.  I’m sure that still applies for some, but at least Wakaba Girl doesn’t seem to be cutting corners on the animation quality… yet.

Overall, I don’t know what it is about this series, but I can’t help but be charmed by it.  Admittedly, this episode was a bit dull just because it was all character introductions, but I hope that the next few episodes are more exciting.  I am very tempted to blog this series because it’s short so it should be easy to review, but… I don’t want to blog TWO slice-of-life anime this season, since I’m planning on doing all of Non Non Biyori 2 (guess that secret’s out).

…You know what?  I’m going to be in grad school soon, so give me all the pleasant slice-of-life series.  I have a feeling I’m going to be needing them.

Out of five for this episode:

precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2

Some people may call those backgrounds cheap but I find them somewhat charming.

