‘Crap! We were meant to be in a new Digimon anime but we got lost and now we’re stuck here!’


Comet Lucifer seems to subscribe very, very closely to ‘show and don’t tell’ – although to the extent that a lot of the details on its setting are kinda vague and, for the first episode at least, the synopsis is challenging. But that doesn’t mean it was hard to follow.

A boy called Sogo is exploring an abandoned mind near his town – some kind of futuristic-european cocktail – and manages to find a crystal that excites him greatly. Apparently it’s something that will prove something that was important to his mother, and he hurries on home to his restaurant-house on his hover-scooter. In his excitement he forgets the errand his father asked him to do originally, but when he sets out again to do this he (literally) runs into a girl he knows – Kaon – who demands he help her escape from a man she is being forced into a marriage to. In their rush to escape from the man the two end up falling straight into the mine – where, meanwhile, some kind of excavation by a mining team to locate a certain object is being carried out.
This ‘object’ turns out to be a girl encased in crystal, who breaks free after a reaction from the one that Sogo found earlier.
However, the other miners – who, I should add, are piloting mechs because why not I guess, seem determined to take the girl. Then another mech appears to defend her.

I kinda like this blue-haired whizkid, but probably not enough to keep watching.

There’s not really anything necessarily bad about Comet Lucifer…however, there’s not really anything particularly good either. It’s the kind of show I might forget I even watched if I didn’t have to review it afterwards. Although, considering it was the show I watched after Rakudai kishi no Cavalry, that alone was sweet relief.

The main reaction I’ve been seeing to this show so far is that it seems to be a giant ripoff of Studio Ghibli’s Laputa. I don’t know if I’d go that far, but it definitely has a lot of weird similarities (to it and Ghibli in general)and if the scene in which Sogo captures the falling girl wasnt intended as an homage I’d be very surprised. I’m also getting a clear vibe of ‘adults who think they know everything are the ones in the wrong but the Pure Hearts of Children will prevail’ – something that’s kind of old hat in fiction by now, but it could be mildly interesting to see where Comet Lucifer goes with that. To be honest,it looks like this is the kind of show where you’ll have to wait and see where it goes regarding anything, because despite all that happened in this episode it really doesn’t give me much to go on. I don’t really know anything about the characters, or their relationship, or who exactly the mining team is, or anything really. I appreciate a break from the ‘here are my pages of boring prequisite knowledge for my science fiction story narrated to you in a boring voice over’, although at the same time I do, just a little, wish that I knew a little more off the bat.

From this first episode alone it’s also impossible to even tell the genre of the show. Judging from the ending theme though, the girl in the crystal looks childish and energetic, which is a huge contrast to her graceful first appearance in the episode itself. It does also look like the four characters who find themselves in the mine – Sogo, Kaon, her unwanted fiancee and whoever the hell that blue-haired kid along for the ride is – are all going to be major characters. No matter what ends up happening, though, this is clearly the kind of show where more than one episode is needed to set up the plot. Part of me wants to watch the next episode just to see what that might be, but the other part  found this mostly forgettable. If I could sum up this entire review with one word it would be ‘-shrug-‘. There could be something good here, there could be nothing, but it’s not exactly going out of its way to grab my attention.

This…was intentional, right?

Out of 5,
melonmelon1/2

