There are SPOILERS for this episode.

Every night is oden and beer night.

Summary:

The sextuplets skip out on paying Chibita for their meal so Chibita kidnaps Karamatsu and holds him hostage to make the other brothers cough up some dough. Unfortunately for Chibita (and Karamatsu), Chibita ended up kidnapping the least favorite brother…

Choromatsu is the only one that cares (although not for long)

In the second act, Jyuushimatsu brings Ichimatsu to Professor Dekapan, in order to find a medicine that would allow Ichimatsu to talk to cats. Surprisingly, Professor Dekapan DOES have just the medicine—it would allow the person who takes it to understand everyone’s true thoughts. But the medicine must be injected, and Ichimatsu doesn’t want to get a shot. Luckily(?) the cat that Ichimatsu had brought along jumps to Ichimatsu’s rescue… and now the cat can read (and speak) peoples’ true thoughts. This quickly wreaks havoc on the town.

Nice… lab???

Ichimatsu…

DRAMATIC SUNSET SHOT

My Opinion:

Once again, my summary is super vague to entice people to watch the episode first—this is your last warning about spoilers!

Anyway, who knew that a gag-based show could also be so heartwarming and sad? Ichimatsu’s situation is somewhat relatable to me. I am also a rather socially awkward person, so I feel you, Ichimatsu. I am glad that his dilemma is actually treated seriously. It gives more depth to Ichimatsu’s personality, even if it’s a bit clichéd. But, whatever. Ichimatsu being afraid to get close to others because he lacks self-confidence is very realistic, and poking fun at that would just be cruel.

On the other side of the coin, there’s the unfavorite brother, Karamatsu. I felt rather bad for Karamatsu in this episode. He already tends to be the buttmonkey of the series, so having his brothers ditch him like that was somewhat painful to watch. Karamatsu isn’t my favorite of the Matsuno brothers, but I think having his brothers outright abandon him just because he acts a little silly at times is downright cruel. And I’ve never been fond of “cruel” humor in anime.

Overall, I have severe mixed feelings about this episode. On the one hand, Ichimatsu’s dedicated act was very heartwarming, and it was played off in a way that didn’t feel sappy or over-the-top. On the other hand… Karamatsu. Just… everything that happened to Karamatsu. I know Osomatsu-san has some extremely dark humor at times, but I just don’t have it in me to find that sort of stuff funny. So yeah, this episode wasn’t as funny as the others, but it was still fairly well-written.

Out of five for this episode:

precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2 and 1/2

get wrecked Iyami

