Note: The reviews for Divine Gate, Dimension W and Nijiiro Days will be delayed a bit due to Junko’s internet situation, as opposed to my reviews, which are delayed because I’m lazy.

This idol group really ROCKS!

Ishimoto Miki is ready to start a career in showbiz after her disappointment in art school and the jobs it led her to. Slaving through art school may have allowed her to train her willpower and stamina, but it’s left her angry and bitter about sculptures. Day in, day out, all she did was draw and paint reference sculptures, despite her desire to draw what she wanted to. Even the jobs she got after graduation were all sculpture based and caused her nothing but grief. She figures that a job in show business is where the true art lies – making people happy and helping to create incredible pieces of modern culture, but most importantly, she’ll never have to see a goddamn sculpture again.
She’s a little surprised when she actually ends up contracted as the manager of a new boy idol group.

This is mostly because the group is made up of four photorealistic sculpture busts that talk for some reason.

St Giorgio! Mars! Hermes! Medici! They are the SEKKOU BOYS!

poor miki’s artistic career really did get off to a rocky start.

I might be calling this a little early, but I’m pretty sure we already have our winner of the 2016 WTF Award. Every time I think about the concept of Sekkou Boys I laugh my arse off because it’s just so fantastically stupid that it’s amazing. I have no idea how anyone could even come up with something like this as a plot but congratulations!

There really isn’t a lot you can say about this first episode – the main gag is obviously the fact that the idol group are a bunch of stone busts, the kind instantly recognizable to most Japanese people not as historical figures but the things that school children tend to use in art class as practice for drawing shadows. (It’s highly likely that busts like these are also used in art classes in other countries perhaps even in Australia – they weren’t in mine but my art class was pretty bad anyway.) They’re photo-realistic and clash hilariously with everything else in the show, and they can’t seem to move on their own or even open their mouths, yet they do speak and they do sing, and they all have the personality of the types of male characters you tend to find in otome games. Which is funny enough on its own, but there’s also the fact that nobody else seems to question this and Miki is the only one who is confused. I’m not really a fan of ”anime character reacts to an absurd situation by yelling a lot” style of comedy, but here it kind of works because…wouldn’t you do the same?? That said, I don’t really know what they’re going to do in future episodes once the impact of its main sight-gag wears off. It hasn’t for me yet, because Daisuke Ono voicing a photorealistic statue is still making me laugh.

I was also kind of glad that the episode was about seven minutes long as opposed to five (or even the dreaded three), and it worked with this time frame pretty well. It’s actually the perfect length for a show like this – it’s long enough for the jokes to have a buildup and payoff, but short enough that it doesn’t overstay its welcome.

If it manages to stay as funny as I found this first episode I might end up blogging this in 2-episode batches. I can’t not watch something as ridiculous as this.

When I said I wanted some guys with chiseled physiques this isn’t what I meant!

Out of 5,
melonmelonmelonmelonmelonmelonmelonmelonmelonmelon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

