I hope you like more movie parodies.

Summary:

This first skit: a Mad Max parody, with lubricant lotion(?) and… uh, a lot of homoerotic subtext. And hypertext.

excuse me?

It actually gets more ridiculous from here, amazingly.

The second skit: Ichimatsu tries on Karamatsu’s jacket for kicks, Osomatsu walks in, so Ichimatsu has to pretend to be Karamatsu to save his pride. Obviously hijinks ensue.

Karamatsu? Nope, that’s Ichimatsu.

STOP MAKING THINGS WORSE FOR YOURSELF

My Opinion:

This was a good episode. It’s probably one of the funnier ones we’ve had. I haven’t actually seen any of the Mad Max films, but I could immediately recognize that the first skit was a parody of it. The idea of “Mad Max, but with a lot of gay stuff!” alone doesn’t make for a funny skit; but it just kept getting more and more ridiculous to the point where I had to laugh at what I was seeing. If you like seeing the Matsuno brothers in “bishonen mode” then you’re going to be happy because we get a lot of that here—with added fanservice! Admittedly, I did notice a rather dramatic drop in animation quality. Perhaps this is why they don’t do “bishonen mode” too often.

The second skit was also rather funny, and I’m actually surprised it took them this long to do a “the brothers swap clothes and confuse everyone” skit. Ichimatsu was just great in this skit. I especially love his fake Karamatsu voice. There are a few things I have to nitpick, though. Osomatsu… is he really that oblivious? Because Karamatsu realized right away that it was Ichimatsu in disguise, but Osomatsu fell for Ichimatsu’s extremely flimsy acting. Osomatsu isn’t that bad of a brother, but when this series wants to make him look like a terrible brother they sure do a good job of it.

Another thing I wasn’t too fond about was the sight-gag at the end of the second skit. I know it’s a huge “nudge nudge wink wink” from the anime producers at Matsuno-shipping. I personally don’t ship any of the brothers, but I also don’t oppose “Matsucest” either. However, I do think that we could have done without that sight-gag, because other than being fanservice it didn’t really add much to the episode. I’ve noticed a lot more fanservice-related things since the second cour of Osomatsu-san started, and I really do not want the anime to be so overloaded with fan-references that the series’ quality goes the way of the “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic” series did.

Overall, a good episode despite everything. As much as I love the brothers, I am starting to miss appearances from the side-characters. What happened to Iyami and Totoko? The next episode is Jyushimatsu centered and I am both excited and afraid. Don’t break my heart again Osomatsu-san.

Out of five:

precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2

Worst Ichimatsu impression I’ve ever seen, 2 out of 10

