Hey everyone! If you’ve read my review for Handa-kun episode 1, you’ll remember that I promised to review at least the second episode; as the first episode was really obviously a jokey faux-episode. So… here it is. I wouldn’t even be doing this if I wasn’t so fond of the Barakamon series. Did the Handa-kun anime improve at all in this episode? Well… I guess it depends on what your definition of “improvement” is.

Here we go again… for real this time.

Summary:

In this episode, we finally get to see the ending to that “love confession” skit.

We also get to see two more massive misunderstandings (revolving around Handa-kun and his antisocial behavior); which ends up winning Handa two staunch supporters/fanboys.

Wish we could have seen more of Kawafuji. He didn’t get much screentime in the Barakamon anime either.

My Opinion:

Welp. You can’t say I didn’t at least try to give this series a fair chance, as I actually stuck around to watch the second episode. While this episode was a little less grating than the first, due to not having the Handa fanclub inexplicably take up half of the episode; it still wasn’t… that great. I am not really fond of the “characters keep misunderstanding each other” comedy trope. It can obviously be done well, but the way the Handa-kun anime handles it is just annoying. We get it. Handa’s an unsociable asshole. I guess the comedy is supposed to come from people still idolizing Handa even though he’s basically a gigantic loser.

But there’s just something really grating about how everyone acts. Why is there so much screaming? Alas, my poor eardrums. Also, I guess people over-reacting over everything is supposed to be funnier? I watched all of Sakamoto, desu ga and actually LIKED that series, despite Handa-kun having a similar premise. After having thought about it for a bit, that’s probably because Sakamoto, unlike Handa, is actually a likeable character.

Let’s face it, Handa is sort of an awful character–at this point in time. I think the reason why I ended up liking him so much in Barakamon was because he matured and also got a massive dose of character development. I realize that my statement is heavily biased; but having seen Barakamon first, the Handa-kun anime is honestly a huge letdown for me.

Overall, this is an alright series if you’re into that kind of comedy. It just doesn’t do anything for me, sadly. It’s kind of a shame about the animation as well (which looks kind of cheaply done). Anyway, if Handa-kun does well, we’ll probably get a second season of Barakamon; so here’s hoping for its success.

Out of five for this episode:

precure heart2precure heart2

Not going to lie, I was feeling just as drained as Handa by the time this episode ended.

