Be prepared for a lot of references to the ocean/sea.

Summary:

A dictionary editor by the name of Araki is about to retire, and attempts to seek out someone young who can replace him. Meanwhile, a young man named Mitsuya works unsuccessfully as a salesperson for the very same publishing house. Because of his awkward sales pitch, he gets scolded by a co-worker (in another department) named Masashi.

why do so many socially awkward characters wear glasses (I mean, I like characters with glasses but still)

Despite being socially awkward, Mitsuya is extremely good defining and making distinctions between words. Of course, this catches Araki’s eye. Araki meets up with Mitsuya and gives him an impromptu test–which Mitsuya passes with flying colors. Thus, Araki recruits Mitsuya to be the editor of the dictionary called “The Great Passage.”

Landlady is so chill, I love her.

My Opinion:

This show is giving me serious Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu vibes. Like that series, Fune wo Amu appears to be a more “mature” anime. By that, I don’t mean that it has copious amounts of violence or sex; but rather it deals with topics that may be somewhat more philosophical than your average anime.

Fune wo Amu is based on a novel, which itself was made into a live-action film in 2013. It strikes me as a little strange that it’s getting an anime now, but from what I’ve seen of the first episode, it’s not bad. While the plot of the series seems like something from a live-action drama, I do think the anime medium suits it well. The animation so far is superb, and I love how the characters are animated. The characters manage to come off as lively, but their motions and expressions are realistic rather than exaggerated. There is quite a bit of ocean/water imagery throughout the episode, and that was nicely animated as well. I also have to give a special mention to the OP, which is one of the more visually interesting anime OPs I’ve seen since… well, Osomatsu-san.

The characters themselves are okay so far. One episode isn’t enough to really get a grasp of their personalities, but I’m really liking our main character. Mitusya is a young man struggling in a job that he’s ill-suited for. It’s obvious that he has social anxiety, and yet he’s a salesman. As someone who also has social anxiety, I could strongly relate to Mitsuya’s problems. I also really like Mitsuya’s landlady, an old yet kind woman. Unlike most older characters in anime, Mitsuya’s landlady has such a vibrant personality. Mitsuya’s relationship with her is really sweet to see, as she treats him almost like a grandson.

Overall, this was a good episode, but it is very slow-paced. The topic of the entire show (making a dictionary) isn’t exactly… the most fascinating of topics out there, but the anime makes it interesting enough. For an anime like this, the strength of the characters will determine if the series sinks or swim. Fune wo Amu at least doesn’t seem like it’s going to be anywhere near as dramatic as what Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu ended up being, so I can see this being a nice anime to relax with at the end of a hard day. The biggest criticism I have for this anime so far is the weird segment in the middle of the episode. It was some kind of anime short about personified dictionaries? While it served to explain a little bit about dictionaries, the whole segment was horribly unfitting for the episode as a whole.

Sadly, I probably won’t be blogging this. If each episode is going to be as slow-paced as this one was, there’s just not going to be much I can say about it. Still, I am interested; so I might keep watching this.

Out of five, I give:

precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2

Alright, this entire scene was admittedly super cheesy but it was also nicely animated so I can forgive the cheesiness.

