In hindsight, I realize that these reviews would probably be much better if I actually knew more about classical music. Sadly, I don’t. (Though this series at least made me interested in researching the topic.)

Pay your rent or face the wrath of Kanae.

Summary:

Kanae is still stressed over the three freeloaders in her house, and is determined to find some normal tenants who will actually pay rent. When she comes home from school early to clean up for an open house, Kanae finds a mysterious woman wandering around inside the mansion. The woman calls herself “Lisz,” and seems to be overly affectionate towards Kanae. Kanae also soon discovers that she actually has FOUR freeloaders in her house–one of which is the mysterious “Cho-chan.”

TBH I find making Liszt a busty woman for the sake of fanservice far more offensive than having Beethoven’s and Mozart’s anime incarnations be idiots.

Cho-chan is unfortunately kind of a recluse; and hides himself away in a wardrobe when Kanae and Lisz manage to bust into his room. Cue everyone (including Sousuke, Beethes, and Motes) attempting to drag the poor man out. They do manage to at least pry open the wardrobe, but everyone attempting to talk to him at once overwhelms Cho–which ends up activating his Musik.

This is Chopin, who at least does look a little bit like the actual composer.

The Musik segment this time wasn’t as exciting as the past two, but it was still pretty cool.

Using his Musik, Cho creates an infinitely growing tower out of the wardrobe in an attempt to seclude himself from everyone. Kanae is undeterred by this and starts attempting to climb the tower. Lisz, touched by her determination, ends up activating her own Musik; which helps Kanae get into contact with Cho. Lisz’s Musik also makes… some pretty strange things happen but no way am I spoiling that joke here.

…no comment.

Anyway, after that scene, everything returns back to almost normal. Except that Kanae now has two “official” tenants who actually pay rent: the outgoing Lisz and the reclusive Cho.

My Opinion:

This episode was a bit of a step down from last week’s episode, but it at least still managed to make me laugh in the last quarter of the episode. The entire premise of this episode was just “the entire cast tries to get a hikikomori out of their room,” and I’ve seen that particular storyline in several other anime/manga before. ClassicaLoid didn’t try to subvert any of the usual tropes associated with this storyline–first they used force to try to drag the recluse out, and then they attempted to hold a “party” to motivate the recluse to come out on their own. This is probably a pretty common storyline because of an ancient Japanese legend/myth about the gods attempting to draw Amaterasu out of her cave, but I don’t want this review to get too long so I won’t go too deeply into that.

Anyway, the big question most people are asking about this episode is, why is Lisz a woman? The composer that Lisz is based on is a man named Franz Liszt. Another question that this series brings up is, why is Chopin portrayed as a recluse? Sadly, I do not know enough about classical composers to really answer that question. But, from some rudimentary research, I did find out that Liszt and Chopin were acquainted with each other. This probably explains why “Lisz” and “Cho-chan” were introduced together.

Going back to “Lisz is inexplicably a woman,” it seems to be implied that Lisz is a trans-woman? Am I interpreting this episode right? If that is the case, I have mixed feelings about that. I really like that (other than the initial surprise), no one cares that Lisz is a trans-woman. However, I get the feeling that Lisz was only made a woman because the writers of the series didn’t want the cast to be too male-heavy and so just randomly picked Liszt and Tchaikovsky to genderbend. Also, all the fanservice shots of Lisz are honestly kind of tasteless.

Overall, a decent episode. We do get some more hints about what exactly “ClassicaLoids” are, but again nothing is really explained yet. So are these guys really just the classical composers reincarnated or what??? Fortunately, the music in this series is still pretty good, and the animation quality has stayed pretty consistent as well. (Is this one of the few series that has managed to avoid the dreaded episode 3 animation curse?) I realize now that these reviews would be far more informative if I knew more about the composers themselves. I do conduct some very light research after each episode, but I sadly just don’t have the time to do a really deep look (I’m still a full-time grad student after all). So I hope you guys don’t mind reading my (somewhat clueless) reviews for ClassicaLoid. At least this gives a perspective of this series from someone who doesn’t know a whole lot about classical music? Besides, any series that manages to make me interested in researching historical figures is a good anime in my book.

Out of five for this episode, I give:

precure heart2precure heart2precure heart2

I still think these three have the best comedic chemistry.

