Time to begin a new season of First Impressions! Starting with…er….this

Hello, ladies

 

An unnamed woman attends her high school class reunion and finds herself still attracted to her past crush, Kujou. She was a clumsy girl, and has many fond memories of Kujou rescuing her from various accidents. She surprises herself by finding him attractive even when he is revealed to be bald. However, Kujou now works as a priest/monk at a temple, making a romantic relationship with him technically off-limits.

She leaves the class reunion extremely drunk and still thinking about Kujou. After she nearly passes out, he rescues her yet again and brings her safely home. She thanks him for always helping her out and expresses her surprise that he chose the career he did. He tells her that even though he is a priest, he is still a man, and passionately kisses her before removing her shirt.

 

Young Kujou was kinda cute, but had a permanent dopey grin

The title of this 3 1/2 minute short translates to “A Lustful Night-time Meeting with a Monk,” and let me tell you that the title does not lie. While there is no actual sex in the first episode, things get pretty heated pretty quickly. This is based on an erotic manga, and will likely be a fairly sexual series with an R or R+ rating. Personally, I don’t have any problems with manga/anime being erotic, though it’s not usually my type of show. I don’t have much to say about the ending scene, except that I wasn’t a big fan of how the kiss was animated (too wet / too much focus on saliva for my tastes).

While I get that this show is a short and is focused on romance/sex, I would have liked a little more context and setup before the actual act. Kujou’s character is actually fairly interesting, being a kind guy who works as a priest but has a “darker” side – acting on his sexual desires despite his job forbidding it, and initiating things with the narrator while she was still pretty inebriated. I wish they could have talked a bit more about his reasons for joining a temple with such an un-monk-like personality, though I suppose that would be covered in later episodes. I do also think a bald male protagonist in a romantic show is pretty cool and unique, and I do think there was at least an attempt to make him still appear attractive, even if I don’t personally find him to be so.

Overall, this show basically is “exactly what it says on the tin” – a fairly sexual short about a woman and a monk. Not my cup of tea, but not bad, and at least gets kudos for trying to move the plot along and make the most of its short airtime. I don’t really have anything else to say, so, out of 5 Dios:

diodio

I, er, think this is meant to be hot?

