This happiness doesn’t last long.

Summary:

Inaba has just graduated from middle school, and has been accepted into Joutou Business High School. One his main reasons for going there is so that he can live in a dorm on his own. Inaba’s parents died when he was in the 7th grade, and Inaba doesn’t want to be a financial strain on his uncle’s family (who took him in). Though mainly he just wants to escape the scorn of his cousin, Eriko.

The requirement for being a protagonist is to have one or two dead parents.

Unfortunately for him, his high school’s dorm suddenly burns down, and repairs won’t be fully completed until six months later. Still desperate to move out, Inaba manages to find an apartment with extremely cheap rent. The downside to it all? The apartment is inhabited by youkai.

Okay, I just noticed it now, but that shirt on Inaba is really terrible.

My Opinion:

This was a pretty basic, bare-bones “humans living with youkai” plot. I hear the manga’s pretty good, and I hope it is, as this anime just struck me as kind of average. It’s not bad, but it’s not really amazing so far either. Maybe I’ve just watched too many anime featuring youkai–it’s going to take a lot more now than just the presence of youkai characters to make me interested. It’s likely that more interesting things will happen next episode, because this first episode felt lackluster. Other than Inaba moving into the apartments, nothing much else happened.

The art style and animation also feel strangely dated. If I didn’t know that it was airing right now, I would have assumed this was airing a decade ago. The characters that have been revealed in the first episode are okay, but they’re all a bit painfully bland at the moment. Also, Inaba’s voice feels somewhat unfitting to me, but that’s just my opinion. (He looks like his voice should sound older.) Also, we have yet another protag that has a tragic backstory! I’m honestly getting kind of sick of these. I know it’s probably to make protagonists more relatable or to make them overcoming their troubles more triumphant, but that plot point is becoming real stale.

So little happened in this first episode that I’ve already run out of things to say. The youkai do look potentially interesting? If you’re well-versed in Japanese youkai, you could probably pick out all the youkai that have shown up so far. And I guess you could do a lot worse when it comes to the youkai story formula. I hear that the series’ story does get a lot better later on, but I’m just not very motivated to stick around to find out more. Sorry.

Out of five for this episode:

precure heart2precure heart2 and 1/2

Where was all this during most of the episode?

