Princess Tutu Episode 8

I wish I could throw rocks this high. Maybe I could if I was a duck.

What have I thought of the show so far?: Princess Tutu is a prime example of ‘dont judge an anime by its title’; what sounds like the subtitle of a Barbie feature film is actually a darkly beautiful, multi-layered story about…stories. Stories of the best kind, of course, that being the ‘fairytale’.  I was already intrigued, if not confused, by only a few episodes in, and seriously, Ahiru is just about one of the most adorably heart-grabbing lead characters ever. And she’s a also duck. That’s pretty cool. I’ll admit the animation and artistic style give it the look of an anime for young children; but it really isnt (I cant imagine really little kids being able to fully appreciate and understand everything that’s going on here.  I mean, it confuses me with its mysteries; but I have the patience to stick around for the answers, something which may be lost on younger kids.) The overall look also goes with the storybook ‘fairytale’ feel that I’m sure the director’s were going for. Also, Mytho is seriously the most adorable thing. Everytime Princess Tutu delivers a new emotion back to him, I get all warm and fuzzy inside and excited over seeing how the new emotion is portrayed through him.

Episode 8: The Warriors Fountain

Episode 8 was quite good in terms of plot and character development, although so far, all the episodes have been. We also get to see a side of Fakir I never expected. Episode 7, which I wont be blogging, introduced Princess Kraehe, the alter-ego of Rue. However, we learn in this episode that whilst Ahiru is conscious of the times in which she is Princes Tutu, Rue seems to have no recollection of the times she becomes Kraeha…or does she? Either way, the puzzle about Kraehe still has alot of pieces missing at this stage.

I thought this scene in which Rue is 'confronted' by the piece of Mytho's heart that 'desires for knowledge' was well done; there was something eerie and atmospheric about it.

Ahiru is so glad Mytho is okay! She hasnt seen him since episode 7!
Ahiru is so glad Mytho is okay! She hasnt seen him since episode 7!
Im sorry Im sorry! This was too cute.
"I'm sorry I'm sorry!" This was too cute.

When Ahiru becomes depressed over Fakir telling her to stay away from Mytho, Edel gives her a hint and she takes it to mean that she ought to work together with Mytho in order to resist Fakir. She decides that she’s going to tell Mytho everything; namely, about her being Princess Tutu…

Oh gosh this was too adorable; Ahiru delivering the letter in her duck form.
Oh gosh this was too adorable; Ahiru delivering the letter in her duck form.
Yes, its an iguana-man. Im confused too.
Yes, it's an iguana-man. I'm confused too.
Fakir...is smiling! I might be starting to like him! Who is this stunning gentleman that is kind to little ducks and what has he done to Fakir?!
Fakir...is smiling! I might be starting to like him! Who is this stunning gentleman that is kind to little ducks and what has he done to Fakir?!
Seeing this side of Fakir makes me definitley want to know more about him.
Seeing this side of Fakir makes me definitley want to know more about him.

When Fakir sees the letter Ahiru wrote for Mytho calling him out to talk to him, he doesnt seem to like this idea. He doesnt seem to like alot of things, but it seems that Princess Tutu is high on the list, followed closely by Ahiru and then Mytho not doing what he’s told.
He forbids him to go, but Mytho resists him, having grown a new spine along with the emotions Princess Tutu is bringing back to him.

...Fakir I was just starting to like you whyd you have to start being an ass again.
...Fakir I was just starting to like you why'd you have to start being an ass again.

Nothing Fakir does or says can stop him from deciding to go. I cant help but wonder why Fakir seemed to let him go, seeing as he didnt hesitate to lock him up in previous episodes when he disobeyed orderes. Possibly he predicted that Kraehe may make an appearance. But he’s obviously not very happy about it (or Kraeha), and he goes to retrieve a very special sword. Obviously, its the one referred to in this episodes opener. I must say; it was pretty satisfying to see Mytho stand up for himself. He also looked really cool when he did it.  Even though he did get slapped, I was cheering him on.

Fakir speaking german was pretty awesome. (I think it was german)
Fakir speaking german was pretty awesome. (I think it was german)
Looks like the meeting will get interrupted soon...
Looks like the meeting will get interrupted soon...

I’m pretty solidly shipping Mytho and Ahiru by now. They’re just both so cute, I absolutley love any scene where they’re together. Obviously, Ahiru wasnt able to tell Mytho her secret, yet I wouldnt expect her to in only episode 8.  This comment also applies to pretty much any scene in this show but the music; it’s always so perfect for each scene! I love it, along with the ‘lighting effetcs’ that are used. This episode had a dark, forboding feel, compimented with the stormy skies and muted colours, for most of the second half. The first half was brighter, particularly that scene with Fakir and duckAhiru.

Along comes Kraehe! She thinks Mytho is -her- prince, and doesnt need any emotions.
Along comes Kraehe! She thinks Mytho is -her- prince, and doesnt need any emotions. Isnt this an amazing shot? I love the spotlight. They did this a few times in this episode, and others; it really makes it look like a stage-show.
The Warrior, Fakir, enters the fray. The different sides are getting more ambiguous. Kraehe recognizes that sword!
The Warrior, Fakir, enters the fray. The different sides are getting more ambiguous. Kraehe recognizes that sword! From the look on Mytho's face, perhaps he does too.

Relevation! After Fakir ‘defeats’ Kraehe with the sword (although I’m sure it’s not the last of her), Ahiru (by now Tutu. She always manages to transform without Mytho noticing, of course) learns that it was Fakir that destroyed Mytho’s heart in the first place, and now he’s back to do it again.  Mytho offers to do it himself, devastating poor Tutu, who begs him not to.

Poor Tutu feels she is maybe unable to help Mytho after all.
Poor Tutu feels she is maybe unable to help Mytho after all.

Mytho is convinced by her tears and, for some reason, Fakir seems to accept this and leaves. The piece of his heart that Kraehe had taken before is now restored to him. ‘The Desire to know more’. And the first thing he desires to know?

I want to know what Princess Tutu thinks of me. My gosh, I honestly nearly squealed at this.
"I want to know what Princess Tutu thinks of me." My gosh, I honestly nearly squealed at this.
I would have reacted the same way! Although not entirely, because we know that Tutu will disappear if she ever confesses her feelings. This love story is very bittersweet...
I would have reacted the same way! Although not entirely, because we know that Tutu will disappear if she ever confesses her feelings. This love story is very bittersweet...

A lovely episode, with some very beautiful scenes and plot points.  I completely loved the Ahiru-Mytho scenes as well, especially the ending one…! Not to mention Fakir’s unexpected kind side. However I’m till scratching my head over why Fakir would leave Mytho alone with Tutu, considering how much of a deal he’s made about it before. Perhaps he has other plans? We’ll see in episode 9, I guess.

In any case it gets 4 melonpan out of 5.

All screencaps in this review courtesy of ADV/Madman.

There’s my first episode review, so tell me; what do you think of this format? Too wordy? Too much plot summary? Not enough? Share your thoughts and ideas for improvement. Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Princess Tutu Episode 8

  1. Ari May 7, 2009 / 4:48 pm

    I think that was a pretty good episode review!

    I would have had the same reactions as you… Except I spoiled myself early on, thinking I would never be able to see the anime. xD;

    I really like the comments that you put on some of the pictures. A little bit of humor makes things a lot more interesting.

    Yeah, Fakir speaks in German in that scene. I can’t remember where, but I read that the city where PT takes place is supposedly in Germany.

    And yeah, little kids wouldn’t like the series too much. Heck, the only reason I was able to get my dvds was because another family got them for their 6-7 year old child, and she didn’t like it. (So I was able to buy it off of them.)

    …I skipped subjects a lot here, didn’t I? >_>;

  2. Grace April 13, 2013 / 5:54 pm

    Princess Tutù is my favourite anime because it’s very cute!
    Thank you for the screenshots!

  3. Grace April 13, 2013 / 5:56 pm

    And I’m in love with Mytho…
    He’s very, very pretty!!!!

  4. Grace April 13, 2013 / 5:57 pm

    Mytho and Tutù are two beautiful White Swans, and they’re so cuteeee!!!!

Leave a comment